maybe you can relate

As many of you already know, Drew has a demanding job and has weird hours, that’s the life of working shiftwork. Well currently he is on the tail end of working 40 nights. This has been grueling for both of us. Drew is physically working so hard and has sacrificed time with me and his baby. I am exhausted because I am living like a single parent doing all of the parenting and house work. Let’s just say I have had a lot of time for “reflection” if you will.

In this time not only have I missed time with my husband but I have missed general companionship. Having friends and people to spend time with has always been a natural thing. I have always had good friends, even if it’s just a few, I’ve always had someone I could spend my down time with. Well Drew and I have been in Sugar Land for 2 years now and quite frankly I have no friends here. This is something that is essential to my happiness and is something I didn’t realize I was missing until it was smacking me in the face.

Now here’s where you can probably relate. I know… It’s part of growing up, moving away from your high school/college friends and creating your own life with your spouse or in your career. We all have to move on with our lives and realize that as important as our old friends are, we are in a new place and must embrace the unknown territory of beginning again. I’ve asked myself “how can I make new friends”. I want friendships to be authentic and as easy as all of my other friendships have been in the past. But I realized that like most things we want, we have to put some effort into it. Friendships have always been so effortless so the idea of going out and trying to make new friends.. well it’s difficult and not something I felt confident to do. But I’m sick of walking around this town feeling like I’m just a visitor, feeling like I’m just a passerby. If this is where we are going to ground our family, I want to feel like I am part of a community. I want to have people I can call on to go for a walk if Drew is working nights, or just have people to invite over for dinner. I think we as humans are so scared of rejection and the unknown. What if they think I’m weird. Can they tell that I’m desperate to have someone to just confide in. Where do I belong? This is a very raw subject and please don’t pity me. I’m just opening up about something I think we all feel and desire. We just want to feel a sense of belonging.

Well I’m ready. These 40 days have showed me that I need people in my life. I need to be more trusting and open. I need to push myself outside of my comfort zone. I need to take the opportunities that present themselves and seek opportunities as well. I hope you are encouraged to push yourself outside of your comfort zone and explore new things, whatever it may be. Whatever it is that you have always been interested in but never had the guts to do it, give it a go! Be brave. Be willing. Be courageous. Be you.

Andrea

Leave a comment